What are the rules for a penalty rebound in soccer?

Home » Soccer » What are the rules for a penalty rebound in soccer?
Soccer 14,055 Comments

A penalty kick is considered the clearest chance to score in soccer/football. We even see players celebrating when the referee points to the penalty spot. However, sometimes the penalty taker misses the opportunity and the ball goes out. Or he may hit the goal post or crossbar. And, of course, there’s a chance that the opposing goalkeeper saves it. In the last two situations, the ball may continue in play. So, what happens when there’s a penalty rebound in soccer? Let’s find out!

Goalkeeper Rebound

If the opposing goalkeeper saves the kick and the ball continues in play, any player may touch the ball. It means that even the penalty taker is allowed to try to shoot again and try to score. The same is valid for his teammates. The opposing defenders are also allowed to clear the ball from their area and the goalkeeper can also touch the ball again too.

Post/Crossbar Rebound

If the ball hits the post or the crossbar and continues in play, without touching the goalkeeper, the penalty taker cannot touch the ball again. However, any other player, including his teammates, are allowed to pass or kick it. The original kicker is only allowed to touch the ball again after it touches any other player, even if it’s unintentional.

Shootout Rebound

During a penalty shootout, there’s no rebound. This means that if the goalkeeper saves the kick or the ball hits the post/crossbar and stays inside the field, the kicker isn’t allowed to touch the ball again. The goalkeeper, otherwise, is allowed to touch the ball to prevent it from rolling into the goal.

14,055 thoughts on - What are the rules for a penalty rebound in soccer?