Is it allowed to pass the ball to goalkeeper in handball?

Home » Handball » Is it allowed to pass the ball to goalkeeper in handball?
Handball No Comments

A handball match is very dynamic. While attacking, it’s very common that all the team’s players are involved in a shot opportunity creation. It includes the goalkeeper. But there’s a question: can a teammate pass the ball back to the keeper? Let’s find out!



The goelkeeper must be OUTSIDE his/her goal area

Yes, the players can back pass to their goalkeeper. However, the keeper must be standing outside his/her goal area and he/she cannot go back to the area while in possession of the ball.
If the goalkeeper is standing inside the goal area, he/she cannot receive a pass. If he/she does so, the referee will sign a foul. The opponent team takes a free-throw on the 9-meter line (dashed line).

LEAVE A COMMENT